GenCon 2015

I’m home from yet another fantastic GenCon, and thoroughly exhausted after tons of gaming, shopping, and talking with fantastic people–industry professionals and fans alike. I was glad to see a ton of familiar faces, and to get to know many more. I’ve got a write-up of some of the coolest things to come out of the show that I encountered below.

Purchases of note: Iron Kingdoms Unleashed by Privateer Press, the Dragon Age core rulebook by Green Ronin, and Force & Destiny by Fantasy Flight Games were the biggest RPG items I grabbed, but the biggest item in general was undoubtedly my Imperial Raider for X-Wing. That thing is enormous, and basically filled my suitcase by itself. Also very pleased to have a few other X-Wing items and the new expansion for Warhammer 40,000: Conquest. There were a few other more minor items, but those were what I would consider my top acquisitions.

New Games to Keep an Eye On: I read a very cool brochure for Onyx Path’s upcoming game Pugmire (by Eddy Webb, who I chatted with at the show and found to be very friendly and helpful), and will need to keep a closer eye on the open development process for that one. Also from Onyx Path, I’ve heard a bunch of fun stuff about games that were already on my radar, but that had new facets to look at, like a supplement for the new Changeling: the Lost edition focusing on my very favorite aspect of the setting. A friend introduced me to a small, two-player boardgame called Titans Tactics I really liked, and would have purchased had I had any room in my luggage. I’ll probably look it up and order it online. I’m excited to see where Green Ronin goes with Fantasy AGE from the base I’ve seen in the Dragon Age RPG, but they were sold out before I thought of picking up a copy. Pumped for the upcoming waves of expansions for Star Wars Armada and X-Wing (they’re adding the Ghost from Rebels to X-Wing, which I am delighted about). Fantasy Flight is also putting out a card game based on the old Warhammer Quest board game–it’s a high bar to live up to in terms of crazy fun, but if anyone can pull it off, it’d be them. I also saw a ton of other games I did not have time to try, as usual.

Other Highlights: I attended the Gamers Live, a sort of comedy improv sketch by Zombie Orpheus Entertainment, the folks behind the Gamers series of films, as well as a number of other cool projects. I’ve been to a Gamers Live performance before, and had a great time then, but I think this year’s was even better, so props to everyone involved. I also chatted a bit with some authors of webcomics I read, and acquired a really cool piece of art from Randy Milholland that I just love–a very cartoon-y rendition of the Conan story “The Tower of the Elephant.”

Overall, I just had a fantastic time. If anyone I met at GenCon reads this, thanks so much for being a part of that great experience!

About Jordan Goldfarb

I am a freelance writer working in the Role-Playing Game industry. My goal is to bring passion, creativity and intelligence to whatever I do, wherever I do it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

